nap

Standard

nap

I don’t know about you, but I could take a nap everyday if my schedule permitted.  When you’re three-years-old and required to “pause the fun” and sleep, it must seem like a drag.  However, the older you get the more enticing naps become.  There are many countries that encourage a siesta, nap or afternoon rest.  Studies have shown the employees increase productivity after a short nap. A person’s memory and learning capacity can also increase after a siesta.

Granted, my weekend naps typically last between 2-4 hours.  That equates to some folk’s evening sleep count.  However, I feel energized and ready to take on the evening with zest.  I read about a competition in Spain where “contestants were pinned against each other to see who could sleep the soundest within 20 minutes, with the winner taking home 1,000 euro.” I would – hands down – win that competition.

Perhaps we should take a page out of another country’s playbook.  Paraguay, Spain, and Japan have some interesting sleep habits. If I could get enough people on board, we could mirror parts of Egypt and Greece.  In some areas of those countries they call it quits between 2-4 p.m. because of the extreme heat.  Well, those of you who live in the south know we should be considered in the “extreme” category.

For now I’ll settle for extra weekend slumber, at least until the baby arrives.  If anyone wants to join in a sleep revolution, let me know.  I’ll send you a soft, fluffy pillow.

Thoughts?

